Skip to content

Fun Friday: What Drink Drove Oscar Wilde?

June 17, 2011

Once again, Flavorwire.com has hit on a fun topic we all know and love: Authors and Drinking. Although they did leave out Virginia Woolf, whose favorite drink, I believe, was Ouse. (I know, bad joke…)

As a Southern Belle and a Kentucky Derby Party Host for many years, I’ll have to agree with Faulkner—Mint Juleps are deeee-vine. But as a California Girl, at the end of the day, I’ll have to stick to my Rombauer Chardonnay!

If you’re a writer—what’s your favorite drink? If you’re a reader, which author do you want to drink with?

Cheers!

BCC

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 3:24 pm

    Yup, another fun post, Marsha. As a writer, I’m sticking to Cuba Libres (for the uninitiated, that’s a rum and coke with a twist of lime on the side). Although my new favorite (Paralyzers – mixture of vodka, coke and milk) might make a rare appearance. And if it’s liqueurs, I love Kahlua (or any of the other less known brands of coffee liqueur).

    • June 17, 2011 4:57 pm

      Ha, ha, Sandra! Rum and Coke reminds me of my undergrad days–partying at Chico State! Not sure about your other two choices… 🙂 Cheers!

  2. June 27, 2011 10:45 am

    Once again you’ve stirred my imagination, and tastebuds, too. My fave cocktail remains a glass of not-too-pricey champagne. However, I recently tried a pear martini after I saw a writer friend delight in one. A few of those and who knows what words I’d spin. Maya Angelou, Jodi Picoult, and Beverly Cleary are the authors I’d love to share a meal and conversation with.

    • June 29, 2011 1:02 pm

      Janet, the pear martini sounds interesting–I’ll have to try it. And you’re right–you would LOVE to have a chat with Jodi Picoult–she’s a down-to-earth, regular, person. just really smart and a prolific writer. Cheers!

  3. June 29, 2011 1:35 am

    I’m not a writer so ill go with drinking with an author. I would like to drink with Edgar Allan Poe, he is said to have written his best works drunk, it would be great to see him write great poems while we enjoy the company of a good beer. Perhaps even include some of my crazy ideas into his poem!

Leave a Reply

