Skip to content

THE AUTHOR WHO WENT TO A BOOK CLUB AND NEVER LEFT

May 31, 2011
White and Red Queen

I’m thrilled to host a talented writer, Karen Harrington, author of Janeology, which just released in paperback, Karen not only has an exciting story to share with us book clubbers today, but she was also a great White Queen to my Red Queen last January at the Pulpwood Queens Girlfriends Weekend in Texas—which technically makes us sisters. Cheers! BCC

 

Might this be the title of a new work of fiction? A mystery? Or maybe a cautionary tale? (If you feed a writer, they’ll keep hanging around.) Well, this is no fictional tale. It’s true. Here’s how it happened.

I will attend any book club in person or by phone. I love the interaction with readers. I love talking about books of all kinds. I love putting on my non-mom clothes and heels and meeting new people. As a writer, it’s transportive. You sit behind the keyboard for years and have a one-sided conversation with your screen. When you get invited to a book club, you finally get to hear the other side of the conversation. That is one of the great discoveries and delights I’ve experienced as a new author.

So a few months back, I was invited to attend a Dallas book club gathering. A friend of a friend had recommended my book, Janeology. When I showed up at the hostesses’ house, I didn’t know a soul. This is a little exciting and scary at the same time. (I keep thinking I’ll write a Stephen King-esque short story about this kind of experience.)

About 10 wonderful women made up this club. They plied me with Chardonnay and salad and warmth. Now the great thing about the nature vs. nurture themes of my book (if I do say so myself) is that they bring out great discussions from readers about how they were raised; how their siblings are different from them despite being raised by the same two people; how where a person lives shaped them; and especially, how those first years of being a new mom can try your soul, sometimes making you feel very alone. The conversation, for me, always ends up feeling more like a safe harbor where I feel I’m meeting members of the same, safe tribe.

Turns out, that on this particular meeting, the attendees had the same feeling. Two days after this club, they all called me and said “We want you to join our book club! We like talking books with you!”

Oh my!

I’m still so excited about this invitation that I can’t stand it. I haven’t been a member of a book club EVER. And now, I’ve met a group of women who’ve invited me to be a member of their tribe.

And that’s the story of the author who attended a book club and never left.

If you want to know more about my book, Janeology, please visit my website – www.karenharringtonbooks.com  The paperback was just released. The book is also available on Kindle for $1.99. I’ve been told that this price makes me the Walmart of ebooks. I’m okay with that.

Thanks to the Book Club Cheerleader for hosting me on her fabulous site today!

Cheers!

Karen Harrington

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2011 10:01 am

    What a great addition Karen will make to any book club!

    • May 31, 2011 10:09 am

      Kay: Absolutely! Wish she could be in one of mine–and I know you’re thinking that SW Louisiana isn’t too far for a Dallas girl to come every month! Cheers! BCC

  2. May 31, 2011 10:14 am

    Thanks again for hosting me, MTE! You rock!

    Kay – So nice of you!

    kh

  3. June 1, 2011 9:29 am

    Oh, how cool! You not only got to talk about your book, but now you’ll get to chat about other books too! Win-win!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,230 other followers

